Xterra Sleeping and Storage Platform Part 2

In part 1 I talked about how I built the structure of the storage and sleeping platform. In part 2 I will show the equipment I have installed in the platform.

I have added this additional equipment for back up power, communications, and increased functionality.

The majority of the equipment is located in the equipment bay directly behind the drivers seat.

 

From left to right is the auxiliary battery and switches, power inverter, ham radio, and the fuse block. The auxiliary battery is housed in a battery box and strapped down to the platform base to keep it from moving around. (I’ll go over the details of the dual battery installation in another post.) Mounted to the equipment bay floor is the power inverter and ham radio. On the back wall of the bay is a 12 circuit fuse block to safely distribute power from the aux battery.

The air compressor is located at the rear drivers side of the platform.

You can just see the compressor head and the output hose on the left side. When I need to air up I attach a hose to the output with a quick connect air fitting. The switch and wiring is connected to the other end of the compressor and goes to a terminal on the fuse block.

That’s all of the equipment I have installed at this point. I’m planning on installing a 2.5 gallon air tank to the compressor which will make airing up tires easier and allow me to run air tools.

Leave a comment